A Different Advertising Strategy
When I started blogging, I was very fascinated with one aspect of it. Blogging at WordPress allows me ad management. It is totally under my control which ads to show and where. Just a thought about that I will be controlling each and every ad and their price used to excite me.
But there was one thing which I was not sure about and used to wonder how are bloggers are so sure about it was the pricing of the ad space. I have seen the ad spaces being valued at from $5 to $200. This is a huge difference and it all because of blog’s popularity and readership. But I chose a different method to price my ad spots and today I am sharing it with you.
Start a Top Commentator contest in your blog for around first 3 months of your blog. And whosoever wins the contest put his 125 x 125 banner in your ad slots. Pretty simple till here, huh? This is where the real work starts.
Once you have put the banner in the blog, start tracking his report using Google Analytics. Analyze how many page views your blog got and how many out of them clicked the ad banner. This way you will have a fair estimate of how well you can get the advertisers worth their investment. In the 3 months, you will know that what your conversion rate i.e. 100 out of 5000 (2%) or 1000 out of 10000 (10%) or something like that. So, that next time, when you will create your advertise page, you can show the exact stats to the potential customers. And I have observed that people like honesty in the blogosphere. If you are true to the world, you will get the returns you have expected.
Ads are just not about the blogger make money, but it serves the greater purpose of making the advertiser’s money worth.
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February 8, 2010
2:55 pm
Interesting point Tushar. Definitely one needs to price the slots based on the click through rate as well – not just impressions.
Btw, the math formula is wrong. 100 out of 5000…
Ajith Edassery´s last blog ..SERP Analytics – Free Online SEO Solutions for SEO & SEM specialists
February 8, 2010
6:03 pm
ajith…it is not a formula….i am just giving an example…
February 10, 2010
4:10 pm
Yep Tushar, but 100 out of 5000 is 2% not 20%

Ajith Edassery´s last blog ..Making Money Online in India gets tougher
February 10, 2010
6:28 pm
point taken Ajith and corrected too
April 16, 2010
4:58 am
nicely explained.. thanks 4 sharing n god bless.
Rajesh´s last blog ..How to Download ZooZoo Videos
April 16, 2010
10:28 am
thanks
April 16, 2010
7:52 am
CTR is more important than just impressions and TUSHAR its a great article!
Blogging + Tech Blog´s last blog ..How To Increase Your Site Traffic And Readers?
April 16, 2010
10:31 am
thanks saksham…..its the CTR that matters the most..not impressions
April 18, 2010
9:17 am
I don’t do much advertising on my blog Tushar. Thanks for expanding my insight into this area

Ryan´s last blog ..How Can Cash Gifting Programs Prosper You?
April 18, 2010
2:32 pm
you are welcome
April 18, 2010
7:25 pm
Interesting idea for bloggers who are new into banner advertising. I wish I could do this; but all my ad slots are filled at the moment

TechChunks´s last blog ..Gmail Adds Drag-and-Drop to File Attachments, Deeper Calendar Integration
April 19, 2010
10:11 am
you do not need it dude, you already have ad slots filled…this technique is for those who are still new to advertising
April 19, 2010
1:50 am
Yes, its important you know what is the value of the ad space which you are providing. It should be worth the money, advertizers pay.
Vivek Krishnan´s last blog ..Eye-Opener for Internet Entrepreneurs: Blogs are NOT a Business
April 19, 2010
10:16 am
and if it is not worth, the advertiser will not hesitate to change the advertising slots
April 20, 2010
2:12 pm
I agree with you Tushar, I know there are many bloggers out there who sell ads in their sites based on estimates without showing the real deal to the advertisers and well the advertisers sometimes feel very reluctant to buy ads like that so I think this kind of click tracking business can certainly help bloggers to persuade the advertisers to buy their adspace
Netchunks´s last blog ..11 Days Of Winning – Win WordPress Webhosting, Domains and More!!
April 20, 2010
4:03 pm
and this is transparent system..and mental satisfaction to advertisers
April 21, 2010
9:54 pm
5$ – 200$??? LOL
Just go for 125×125 CPM ads of Techradar.com. It’s about 5$. Blog is totally receiving around 100m Pageviews (estimated) Per Day. In total: 5*10000=50000$
BTW Your presentation is nice. Thanks
Blogging Tips´s last blog ..Best Ways to Make Money Blogging
April 21, 2010
10:14 pm
that’s really a huge number of pageviews but i guess nobody would pay this much to get themselves advertised….
thanks for the appreciation jijo
April 22, 2010
3:08 pm
Nicely explained,,, Some users find it difficult to set the proper ad price for their blog. If the ad prices are high then you will not get any advertisers.
Simran´s last blog ..[Giveaway] 11 Days Of Winning – Free WordPress Hosting and Domain Name
April 22, 2010
3:35 pm
keeping ad price in mind is very necessary…..you need to ensure that they are not high and worth enough you are offering your viewers the page views
April 27, 2010
7:15 pm
Great strategy for new bloggers, anyway!

TechChunks´s last blog ..Top 5 Tips for Writing Better Blog Headlines
April 29, 2010
6:56 pm
Great idea….bro…:)
Thanks for sharing.
Dev | Technshare´s last blog ..Unleash The Problogger Within You – Dare To Be Original!
May 3, 2010
6:32 pm
Click through rates really vary for advertiser to advertise. It depends on the ad, how it looks and the product it is promoting. Nevertheless I usually give my prospective advertisers free advertising for one month and then test it out themselves whether the money is worth it or not.
Melvin´s last blog ..Why Personal Posts Get LOTS of Traffic
May 5, 2010
11:29 pm
Waoh, very great tip, i have never see this type of thing before, i bookmark it on my favorite, i will use your method for my future blog, thanks! ^^
May 7, 2010
5:48 pm
The top commentator idea seems to be very good! I will try it on my blogs.
Mark @ Web Design Services´s last blog ..e-commerce